Klavier History

Return to Klavier home page
The Klavier Music Association was founded in Canberra in July 1989 to provide opportunities for competent adult players of keyboard instruments to perform to fellow music-lovers. Until that time there were very few occasions in Canberra for such musicians to play in front of a supportive audience. Klavier's founders were Brian Marchant and Wilfrid Holland, two well-known local keyboard enthusiasts who became, respectively, Klavier's first President and Vice President. Since its inception, Klavier has continued to offer friendly encouragement to adult performers of piano and other keyboard music, as soloists or in ensembles.

Following Brian Marchant, the Presidents of Klavier have been Barrie West to 1999, Linda Adriaanse in 2000 and from 2007 to 2009, Felicity Fullagar from 2001 to 2006, Jennifer Rowland from 2010 to 2016, Felicity Fullagar from 2016 to 2019 and Giselle Roberts from 2019.

Klavier's performers and audience enjoy coming together for regular Sunday Socials of around an hour of music, followed by afternoon tea. These events are usually held on the fourth Sunday of the month from March to November and mostly in members' homes. Our regular activities also include two concerts each year for the young students of members in the lead-up to music exams, sponsorship of the Piano Division of the Australian National Eisteddfod and the production a newsletter called Leading Note. In 2011 Klavier introduced a new annual activity called Klavier Unlimited. This occasion allows our most capable members to perform whole sonatas and other longer works.

Klavier has been glad to be invited to hold musical afternoons at Government House, Canberra from 2003. In addition since 2004 Klavier has been honoured to have a Vice Regal Patron. The first was Mrs Marlena Jeffrey. Mr Michael Bryce AM, AE was our Patron from 2008 to 2014. Lady Cosgrove became Klavier's Patron in 2014.

Current committee members:
President: Giselle Roberts
Vice President: Felicity Fullagar
Secretary: Brigid Cummins
Treasurer: David Franks
Newsletter Editor: Alan Hinde
Student Concert Coordinator: Christine Thompson
Program Organiser: Robert Schmidli
Committee member: Anne-Marie Hogan
Committee member: Kate Hogden
Committee Member: Robert Stewart